Tim Hoerr is a seasoned business executive with over 30 years of experience in a variety of industries. He serves as the CEO of Serra Ventures and Senior Managing Principal of Serra Capital, a series of Funds providing seed, emerging and growth capital to high technology companies. Tim has worked in the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign (“UIUC”) technology community since 2001 and is a charter member of the University’s Entrepreneur-in-Residence program at EnterpriseWorks business incubator in the Research Park.  He was co-founder and former CEO of iCyt Mission Technology, Inc., a highly successful bio-instrument company that won numerous awards for technology and business excellence and which was acquired by Sony Corporation in late 2009.  Tim was awarded the Entrepreneurial Excellence in Management Award at the Innovation Celebration, 2009.

Tim spent nearly all of the first 15 years of his professional career with RSM McGladrey (now RSM) in Illinois and San Diego, leading teams of consultants focused on serving middle market clients.   In his capacity as Consulting Partner with McGladrey, Tim provided leadership on a regional and national level.  He also served on two national committees for the American Society of Certified Public Accountants (Business Valuation and Emerging Services). Also a professional author and speaker, he has given over 300 speaking and workshop presentations in his professional career.

Professional Credentials: Tim holds the Certified Public Accountant (CPA, 1983) and Certified Management Accountant (CMA, 1984) designations.  He received national honors on both the CPA and CMA examinations. He formerly held the Accredited Senior Appraiser of Business Valuation credential (American Society of Appraisers) while actively practicing business valuation as a partner in RSM McGladrey.

Education: B.S. in Accounting, B.S. in Business Admin., Illinois State University, summa cum laude, 1983.  Tim received numerous honors at ISU, including Bone Scholar, the highest undergraduate designation awarded and the Raymond Esworthy Award for outstanding accounting student.  He was initiated into the Beta Gamma Sigma Honor Society. 

Board Memberships: Baylor University Technology Entrepreneurship Initiative and LAUNCH Business Incubator (2009 to present); Diagnostic Photonics, Inc. (2008 to present); Oso Technologies, Inc. (2012 to present); Phi Optics, Inc. (2013 to present); Serionix, Inc. (2012 to present); Nanomedical Diagnostics, Inc. (2015 to present); Urbana-Champaign Angel Network (Chairman, 2010 to present); Vineyard Church Pastoral Advisory Council (2012 to present); Champaign County Economic Development Corporation (2004 to 2012); University of Illinois Technology Entrepreneurship Center (2004 to 2010).